The long term focus for Earth Observation Australia (EOA) is to facilitate the completion of the Australian Earth Observation Community Plan 2026 and to collaborate with Australia’s proposed Space Agency, providing it with and established communication and coordination mechanism across Australia’s earth observation community.  The organisational evolution of the EOA will be staged, each stage is structured so that the decisions made at the time do not limit the options available for growth:

Stage I

The first stage will be an ad-hoc committee of like-minded individuals operating as an unincorporated body.

Stage II

Incoporated Body: will be a not for profit incorporated body managed by a Board of eight members elected by members of the body and the Executive Officer as an ex-officio member. The chair will be selected from the elected Board members by the elected Board members.

Stage III

EOA may develop into a not for profit propriety holding doing public good EO advocacy and facilitation with funding derived from for profit activities and joint ventures with other entities, this is wholly dependant on the success of stages I and II.

EOA Operating Protocols

  • Meeting minutes, recommendations and position papers are to be compiled by the secretariat in association with chair of the group.

  • The EOA Whole of Community Meeting's will use on-line tools to capture preferences and comments from all participants.

  • Annual meeting minutes to be presented as a synopsis (status of earth observation activities in Australia and contributions to relevant Continuity of Earth Observation Data for Australia (CEODA) reviews).

  • All output annual reports are to be directed to relevant individuals in federal agencies (Chief Scientists, Space Coordination Unit and relevant commonwealth agencies), Council of Australian Governments,  Australian Academy of Science, and Australian Academy of Science and Technical Engineering, SSSI and SIBA, and the Australian Government Earth Observation from Space Working Group (AGEOSWG).

The EOA is formally housed and supported by The Joint Remote Sensing Research Program, with the support of Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry Commission of SSSI of Australia. This includes provision of a web-page, meeting planning and coordination (web-based conferencing) and secretariat support.

EOA Committee

56 (1).jpeg

Professor Stuart Phinn
EOA Chair

Director of the Remote Sensing Research Centre at the School of Earth and Environmental Sciences at The University of Queensland and Director of the Joint Remote Sensing Research Program. Professor Phinn’s research interests include the use of satellite and airborne images to map, monitor and model biophysical properties of terrestrial and aquatic environments for scientific and management applications.

Joanne Edkins from the Remote Sensing Research Centre at the School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Queensland provides EOA secretariat support and assists the chair with coordination of EOA activities.

The remaining members of steering committee will be established in Dec 2017.